Santa Claus Works “A Little Bit of Magic”

Advertising and Marketing, Business, Business development, Cumbria, Google, Linkedin, Marketing, Sales, Social media, Business Toolbox Cumbria

The Power of Positive Thinking

I saw something rather special this morning, and it got me thinking about the power of positive thinking, reinforcement and suggestion. I’m no psychologist but all of these elements can make so much difference to any one of us, in both our personal and our business lives.

Yesterday my bubbly eight year old daughter left her Christmas list out for Santa Claus. It had a list of the things that she would really love for Christmas, and then at the end I noticed this:

“And Santa, I wish with all my heart that I could be more confident horse riding again – can you help – it would be really, really kind.”

The power of positive thinking  - a boost from Santa Claus

After gulping a couple of times about her obvious worries, I wondered whether Santa would come up trumps and help to give her a little confidence boost.

Well he’s a clever fella, and lo and behold he managed to squeeze down the chimney in the night, take her list and leave her a (rather sooty) note telling her that she was improving all the time, and that if she believed in herself the pony she was riding would know that she was working hard too. I’m sure Santa hoped this would give her a lift, but I don’t think he realised just what power he held in his few words!

I noticed from the moment of reading Santa’s note that there was a buzz of excitement about her.  My little lass (who rides for joy but who cares about her ability), got up on her pony with a spring in her step and a huge smile. She enjoyed every minute, and every time she faltered I could just tell she was thinking about what Santa had written. She rode with confidence, style and plenty of giggles. When I returned later after pony club, I was stunned to see her riding one of the biggest horses AND to see her confidently cantering round the ring on this 16 hand beautiful creature. One very happy girl, and one very happy Santa.

So why am I writing about this on my business blog? I am doing so because I believe passionately that we all have it in us to make a significant difference to other people’s lives, whether in a personal or business environment. As with many of us, I’ve seen the destruction of negativity and the contrasting power of positivity. Personally, I have been overwhelmed by the support that I have been given during my first six months of setting up new business. The generosity in terms of guidance, advice or just “go for it – you can do it” reinforcement has given me the desire to succeed, to give something back, and to keep striving to learn and improve every day. Thank you to all of you who have been a part of that!

This does not mean using false praise or empty words, but giving positive encouragement and support where it will make a difference. We all need a little rain in life or there would be no rainbows. However, positive influence, whether from Santa, from family, friends or from those we know in business can keep us reaching for the stars rather than giving up and thinking what might have been. Have you felt the power of positive influence? My resolution is to follow Santa in trying to create a positive environment each day. So what is your New Year’s resolution?

The Power of Positive Thinking, Advertising and Marketing, Business, Business development, Cumbria, Google, Linkedin, Marketing, Sales, Social media

CONTACT

 Kate Wilson

Business Toolbox Cumbria

E: kate@businesstoolboxcumbria.co.uk

W: www.businesstoolboxcumbria.co.uk

T: 07970 898180

I’d love to link up with you on the following sites – just click on the links:

Linkedin / Facebook / Twitter / Google+

Leave a comment